Justice Hill is 2018 Landers Award Winner

600 × 450 
The 2018 Landers Award goes to Little Rock Christian senior quarterback Justice Hill. Hill was named the recipient of the award live on a special 30-minute broadcast on KATV Channel 7 on Jan. 16. 

Hill and 12 other players, including two juniors, were named Landers Player of the Week each week for 13 weeks during the 2018 football season. Newspaper reporters and radio and TV broadcasters then voted for who they felt should win the 2018 Landers Award. 

“You’re the top 13 in the state,” Steve Landers told the nominees before the broadcast began. “Win or lose tonight, you’re winners.”

During the special, before Hill was announced the winner, KATV Sports Director Steve Sullivan interviewed each player and presented the Paul Eels Award to senior Stuttgart wide receiver Mills Bethea. 

As the 2018 Landers Award recipient, Hill was given a trophy, special Jostens ring and a $3,000 college scholarship that will go to a football player at his high school. 

He is signed to play basketball at the University of Arkansas.

Players nominated this year were:

• Samy Johnson, Little Rock Catholic High School 

• Treylon Burks, Warren High School

• Derrick Wise, Fort Smith Northside High School

• Darius Bowers, Fayetteville High School

• Peyton Holt, Greenwood High School

• Mekel Kentle, Joe T. Robinson High School

• Oscar Adaway, North Little Rock High School

• Hudson Henry, Pulaski Academy

• Latavion Scott, Bryant High School

• Cannon Turner, Arkadelphia High School

• Brandon Thomas, North Little Rock High School

• John David White, Pulaski Academy

Previous Landers Award winners are:

• De’Arrius Howard of West Memphis, 2000

• Reed McKinney of Warren, 2001

• Landon Leach of Russellville, 2002

• Peyton Hillis of Conway, 2003

• Darren McFadden of Oak Grove, 2004

• Damien Williams of Springdale, 2005

• A.J. Whitmore of Nashville, 2006

• Tyler Wilson of Greenwood, 2007

• Spencer Keith of Pulaski Academy, 2008

• Michael Dyer of Little Rock Christian, 2009

• Brandon Allen of Fayetteville, 2010

• Fredi Knighten of Pulaski Academy, 2011

• Drew Morgan of Greenwood, 2012

• Zach Launius of Cabot, 2013

• Ty Story of Charleston, 2014

• LaDarius Skelton of Pine Bluff, 2015

• Taylor Powell of Fayetteville, 2016

• Connor Noland of Greenwood, 2017

Watch the special 30-minute KATV broadcast here

For a little nostalgia, watch the video below of Darren McFadden winning his Landers Award in 2004. 

Categories: Awards, Community Events